glycolic acid complex 2 Its always an pretty satisfying experience when you fall in love with a new skincare line. After transitioning to cruelty-free products, I came across a company called ASDM Beverly Hills online. As the name suggests they are based out of Beverly Hills, California and specialize in affordable, spa-grade skincare products. Full honesty: I had never heard of them before in my life. No YouTube videos on them, very little reviews – there wasn’t much out there about them. I decided to take a leap and give it a try. This all stemmed from my love of Eminence Organic Skincare products but my distaste for their high boutique prices. I placed a sizeable order from ASDM Beverly Hills to try and get a good overview of their products – see what I like, see what I could take a pass on. Well…I pretty much liked everything I got! One of my favourites is the ASDM Beverly Hills Glycolic Acid Complex.

The reason I selected this product is because I have a long love affair with natural glycolic acids and other AHAs (alpha hydrozy acids). Yes, that is weird but it has served me well! I have naturally VERY dry skin and because of this my skin easily holds on to dirt and dead skin cells. Regular Exfoliation for me is an absolute must in order for my skin to look youthful, vibrant, and healthy. While it is dry, it is also sensitive and prone to what I like to refer to as “temper tantrums”. This is typically caused by rough physical exfoliants (think St. Ives Apricot Scrub) cause small abrasions on the skin and too much friction. I have always preferred more gentle, yet effective, chemical/biological exfoliants where enzymes or acids do the job for me. When I found a moisturizer with an effective 15% glycolic AHA complex built in – I was in HEAVEN.

glycolic acid complex 3It is a beauty rich yellow hue and has a thick, comforting texture. I use this 3 nights out of the week and supplement with occasional additional exfoliators. I prefer to use this at night as since it does contain glycolic acid, it increases your risk of sun damage if you expose your skin to UV rays. A little goes a long way so you will have this little jar forever. Speaking of the little jar, it is a full 60ml and completely recyclable. The product itself has little to no odour which is perfect for sensitive skin and noses. For those of you who are not as familiar with glycolic acid as others here are a few benefits of this magical AHA:

  • Removes dead skin cells and helps bring new, younger cells to the surface
  • Helps diminish fine lines through gentle exfoliation
  • Reduces the appearance of scarring left over from blemishes
  • Helps soften compacted blackheads and skin congestion
  • When used before other treatments, helps other ingredients penetrate deeper into the skin
  • Helps to minimize pores

Cut_sugarcane

Thats all well and good, but where is glycolic acid from? It is an acid mainly derived from cane sugar. Out of all the AHAs it is the smallest (molecularly speaking) which makes it one of the most effective in terms of dermal penetration.

All in all, I absolutely love the ASDM Beverly Hills Glycolic Acid Complex as a night treatment for my dry, dull skin. This make regular exfoliation gentle and easy! Read more about the product here: http://www.asdmbeverlyhills.com/products/glycolic-acid-complex

Comprehensive Ingredient List: Distilled Water, Glycolic Acid, [Bees Wax, HE-Cellulose, Polyglyceryl Oleate], Sodium Polyacrylate, Grapeseed Oil (Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil), Rice Bran Oil (Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil), Pineapple Extract (Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract), Vitamin E (Tocopheryl Acetate), Allantoin, Honey Extract, Vitamin A (Retinyl palmitate), Coenzyme Q10 (Ubiquinone), [Grapefruit Seed Extract (Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Glycerin], Lactobacillus Ferment

**Product photos taken by myself
**Sugar cane photo from Wikipedia
**Ingredient list from ASDM Beverly Hills
**Product purchased with my own money

THANKS FOR THE READ || LOVE YOU LOTS

 

Leave a Reply

